Richard Huish College’s annual Original Writing and Illustration awards celebrate the creativity of both Huish students and Year 9-11 pupils from local schools through a set of design and writing competitions.

This year the theme of the awards was ‘succession’. Entrants were asked to either design a poster or write an original written piece of under 1,500 words that interpreted this theme.

The first competition was for The Brunner Cup which has run for 28 years and is for pupils in Years 9-11. This year it was won by Olivia, Year 9, from Court Fields School with Poppie of the Taunton Academy placing second and Ebony-Rayne of Heathfield Community School placing third.

The Huish judges were astounded by the talent and range of interpretations produced by the young writers of Somerset. Olivia was presented the cup by a Huish representative at the school’s Year 9 Prize Ceremony in front of her friends and family.

The Ross Paterson Award is a similar writing competition open to Huish students. Rowan Tall won the award with Vicky Chen placing second and Lucy Halley placing third. The writing competition for Huish students is sponsored by Get Home Safe. Get Home Safe was set up by Helen Evans and her friend Charlotte Pitman, in memory of Helen’s nephew Ross Paterson, a former Huish student who had a love for creative writing.

Yara Cazzamalli collecting certificate and trophy from Becky Flower

The final award, The Lucas Cup challenged Huish artists and designers to create an A3 illustration on the theme succession. It was won by Yara Cazzamalli, with Abigail Warden placing second and Squid Southcombe placing third.

The Huish winners were presented their prizes at a presentation during the college’s EnRICH Day. The EnRICH Day is a dedicated time in the Huish calendar for students to try new activities with options ranging from first aid to laser tag, filmmaking to external visits, sports to music and pride celebrations to geocaching.

Read the winning entries and view the winning artworks of the Original Writing and Illustration Awards.