The Richard Huish College ‘Class of 2022’ reunited on 3rd January for a special evening of celebrations to start the New Year at their annual Prize Giving Ceremony. Before the presentations began, those in attendance enjoyed catching up with their friends and teachers over drinks and canapés.

The highest honour, the Principal’s Award, went to Jasmine Otley (pictured below).

Jas came to Huish from Kings of Wessex Academy with health worries having missed a significant chunk of her schooling due to ill health. During her time at Huish, she faced some significant health concerns which she showed great tenacity and determination in coping with.

Huish Staff commented “This is not the story of Jas though. Jas has a sharp mind and a keen sense of purpose. Whether working at Glastonbury with the College on the sound stage, or successfully producing a film for a BFI competition, Jas shows real talent and absolute dedication.


“At Somerset Film, Jas has been working with another student to produce a film short that highlights the danger of knife crime, which is now circulating at film festivals. She also gave so much to others during her time here, joining in with enrichments such as the college newsletter and working as a Huish Ambassador.


“Even though the demands of her courses, her part-time job and health issues took up so much time, Jas always seemed to find time to do more.


“She is now on a gap year working to save for university, as well as volunteering at a local care home. Jas is always thinking of others, so in addition, she volunteers for the Somerset Film youth group. All this ahead of the degree course in Content Film and Media Production she will begin next year at the Met Film School. Jas has a great deal of promise and we are excited to see what she will do next.”.

Principal Emma Fielding With Principal's Award Winner, Jas Otley

The International Student of the Year award was given to Jenny Kim.

The Boarding House Parents described Jenny as “incredibly polite and welcoming to other students and someone who greeted everyone with a smile, it was a pleasure to have her in the boarding house.


“Despite being the only student from Korea in the boarding house, this did not stop her from joining in and embracing boarding life. We feel privileged to have met Jenny and wish her the very best for the future”.

Also, in attendance to commend the students were Adam Townley from the Taunton Chamber of Commerce who sponsored the A Level Business prize, Dr Nicholas Bevan from Amicus Law who sponsored the Law prize, and Jess Henry from Somerset Care who sponsored the Care Values prize.

Fred Davey, Winner Of The Taunton Chamber Of Commerce Award With Taunton Chamber Of Commerce Representative Adam Townley
Will Painter, Joint Winner Of The Karen Revans Debating Cup And Winner Of The Amicus Law Prize With Amicus Law, Dr Nicholas Bevan
Hannah Clements, Somerset Care Care Values Prize Winner With Somerset Care Representative, Jess Henry

Huish Principal, Emma Fielding spoke on the Class of 2022’s determination to get through such a turbulent two years saying “It is a privilege to work with such young vibrant young people and I am phenomenally proud to be able to celebrate just a few of their superb achievements at this event.

“Our annual awards acknowledge significant academic success but also celebrate the wider development of our young people and the critical contribution that they have made to our college community.

“The class of 2022 have been an especially impressive group of students in the care and kindness they have shown of each other and the sense of hope, enthusiasm and fun that they have brought to the College.

“Everyone nominated for an award has repeatedly demonstrated the values of Huish and, in doing so, are all a representation of everything that we stand for as a college. These dedicated, determined and compassionate students are a credit to their families and have been an inspiration to everyone who has come into contact with them during their time at Huish”.

The below gallery features a selection of the Prize Winners who collected their awards on the evening.

Below is the full list of Class of 2022 Prize Winners:

  • Ambassador of the Year Award – Lucy Gardner
  • Amicus Law Prize (Sponsored by Amicus Law) – Will Painter
  • Applied Science Prize – Adrienne Banks
  • Apprenticeship Prize – Cerys Ethridge
  • Art Prize – Freya Haslett
  • Arthur Belluomo Prize for Spanish – Amy Perkins
  • Arthur C Clarke Prize for Innovative Thought (Sponsored by Arthur C Clarke) – Teddy Casson
  • Brabner Cup for Drama & Theatre Studies – Lauren Clayson
  • Chapman History Prize – Bradley Maxwell-Gange
  • Chemistry Prize – Mcrenzo Porras
  • Childcare & Education Prize – Jaden Edwards
  • Classical Civilisation Prize – Lily Gregory
  • Computer Science Prize – Archie Dascombe
  • Cull Music Cup – James Morrell
  • Digital, IT & Computing Prize – Charlie Tatham-Hannigan
  • Economics Prize – Molly Elliott
  • English Language Prize – Amy Perkins
  • English Literature Prize – Astrid Kiernan
  • Environmental Science Prize – Chloe Sanders
  • Extended Project Qualification Prize – Amber Tang
  • Geography Prize – Abi Brant
  • Graphic Design Prize – Ruby Porter
  • Health and Social Care Prize – Emily Broadway
  • Karen Revans Debating Cup (Sponsored by Bill Revans) – Will Painter and Naomi Sabel
  • Level 2 Vocational Prize – Indie Monk
  • Mathematics Prize – Noah Coombe
  • Media Prize – Daisy Heard
  • Modern Language Prize – Katie Higham
  • Music Production Prize – Becky Rolph
  • Peter Austin Geology Prize (Sponsored by Rosie Austin) – Daisy Johnstone
  • Philosophy, Religion & Ethics Prize – Gemma Glauert
  • Photography Prize – Hannah Bensley
  • Physics Prize – Noah Coombe
  • Politics Prize – Spike Perry
  • Popular Music Prize – Rory Long
  • Principal’s Award – Jasmine Otley
  • Principal’s Award for International Student of the Year – Jenny Kim
  • Psychology Prize – Ella Clarke
  • Public Services Prize – Melissa Ford
  • Sociology Prize – George Ough
  • Somerset Care, The Care Values Prize – Hannah Clements
  • Sport Prize – Jude Macbeth
  • Taunton Chamber of Commerce Business Award (Sponsored by Taunton Chamber) – Fred Davey
  • The Avery Prize for Biology (Sponsored by Peter Avery) – Chloe Sanders
  • Warren Cup for Physical Education – Ryan Hill
  • Wellington Motors Vocational Business Prize (Sponsored by Wellington Motors) – Evie Fielder
  • Wendy Glover Prize for Science Students (Sponsored by Robert Spooner) – Charlotte Vile