ACCA qualifications are recognised and recommended around the world. Based on international accounting standards, employers know that an ACCA qualification is a mark of professional excellence.

We are ACCA’s only Gold Approved Learning partner in Somerset recognising the quality of our course, and our pass rates regularly exceed national averages; up to 100% on some units.

This qualification is suitable for AAT qualified students who wish to progress to a chartered accountancy qualification. 

You will be taught by qualified experienced Accountants/Tutors. In addition to passing exams, you will need to complete an Ethics and Professional Skills module.

ACCA Gold Approved learning partner logo




You will attend taught sessions one day per week (9.30am-4.30pm) during term time (lessons run September to June).

It is recommended you complete a further 12-15 hours study at home per week and a little more in the run up to an exam.

The Applied Skills units that you will begin on are taught on Tuesdays. The Professional units that follow are taught on Thursday. 

You are able to enrol at various times throughout the year and will start on the current module being taught.

Below are the dates each unit will be taught. 

Applied Skills

  • Taxation: September – December 2022
  • Corporate and Business Law: December 2022 – March 2023
  • Performance Management: March – June 2023
  • Financial Reporting: September – December 2023
  • Audit and Assurance: December 2023 – March 2024
  • Financial Management: March – June 2024

Professional units

  • Strategic Business Reporting: September – December 2022
  • Advanced Audit and Assurance: December 2022 – March 2023
  • Advanced Taxation: March – June 2023
  • Strategic Business Leadership: September – December 2023



This qualification requires you to complete 10 professional exams. 

There are six (fundamental level) applied skills exams that build on your existing knowledge and understanding, developing strong, broad and practical finance skills. These units are:

  • CW – Corporate and Business Law
  • PM – Performance Management
  • TX – Taxation
  • FR – Financial Reporting
  • AA – Audit and Assurance
  • FM – Financial Management

There are four strategic professional exams. The compulsory exams (essentials level) are:

  • SBL – Strategic Business Leadership
  • SBR – Strategic Business Reporting

You can then choose two further units that suit your career ambitions. You can select your two options from: 

  • ATX – Advanced Taxation
  • AAA – Advanced Audit and Assurance
  • AFM – Advance Financial Management
  • APM – Advanced Performance Management

To become an ACCA member you must also complete an ethics self-completion module and a Practical Experience Record (PER) that details at least three years of practical experience. 

Each unit is assessed by a three hour computer based examination with a pass mark of 50%.

Exams can be sat in December, March, June and September at any ACCA test centre (including Huish). 

Applied skills units are £995 each, and the professional units are £1,195 each.

Fees include tuition, all books and training materials, practice tests, an exam practice kit and a marked mock assessment.

Additional costs (payable directly to ACCA) include exam entry fees (ranging from £123-£222), exemption fees and annual membership of ACCA (for further information about membership please visit the ACCA website).

You will need a Level 4 AAT Professional Diploma in Accounting or ACCA Fundamentals Knowledge Level (BT, MA, FA formerly F1, F2, F3).

If you do not possess a GCSE grade C/4 or above in Maths and English you may need to take a functional skills programme.

This qualification takes approximately three years to complete.

ACCA members advance to senior financial and management positions with strong earning potential.

In addition to Accountancy and Tax practice, you will have the choice of working in many different financial roles within a variety of private and public sector organisations.