The outstanding sporting achievements and contributions to College sport by Richard Huish College students were celebrated at their Sports Awards Evening on May 5th.

The annual event was hosted at Oake Manor Golf Club, Taunton, which provided a perfect setting for the evening and served food and drink for the festivities. Entertainment came in the form of Huish band ‘Place Holder’ who played late into the evening.

Listed below are all the award winners:

Parsloe Cup – This award is for those students that have shown an outstanding contribution to college sport, regularly going the extra mile to support sport within the College.

Winners – Paige Hill and Taylor Flitton

Wooden Spoon – This award is for the person who has shown to be the face of Huish Sport with consistent contact with staff and constantly making people laugh and smile!

Winner – Dellen Marshall

Captain of the Year – This award is for the captain who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that their team runs smoothly. This captain will have taken on a variety of responsibilities and ensured that the Coach’s job has been easy.

Winner – Jessie Smyth-Lees

Sportsperson of the Year – This award is for students who have shown outstanding achievement when representing Huish Sport in 2022-23.

Winners – Millie Aspden and Alec Evans

Coach of the Year – This award is for the Coach who has shown outstanding achievement through representing the College, developing their team or winning a trophy with a team.

Winner – Igors Kuznecovs

Team of the Year – This award is about the team that has shown/achieved something special whilst representing Huish Sport. This could be winning a trophy, retaining all players, achieving against the odds, improving the most, or just being a pleasure to coach.

Winners – Mens Football

Huish 20 – These awards are given to the twenty Upper Sixth students that coaches voted as players they would always want on their side and who have shown great commitment, enthusiasm and team spirit throughout their two years at Huish.

Winners – Esme Batchelor, Sophie Austin, Kit Hockey, Mark Leadley, Harry Jackson, Oscar Gillard, Chiann Allen, Jemima Rundell, Freya Harvey, Hannah Squire, Ethan Jones, Joe Skelsey, Finn Shimmin, Jodie Prescott, Molly Ballantine, Emily Adcock, Becca Watts, Matt Bird, Charlie Aldridge and Toby Bakary.

Sports Development Officer, Mike Ryan said “Students and fellow staff were all blown away by how good the venue was, that the food was delicious, and how great the band was with many already looking forward to next year. Congratulations again to all students on a massively successful year!”