Over 110 students attended the annual Richard Huish College Sports Awards at Oake Manor Golf Club in May.

The evening started with a 3-course meal followed by an introductory speech by Huish Vice Principal, Becky Flower, before the students took over with their Captain’s Speeches. After the inspiring and entertaining speeches the following awards were presented:

Wooden Spoon – This award is for the person who has been the face of Huish Sport with constant contact with staff and constantly making people laugh and smile! Winner- Lydia Persey.

Parsloe Cup Male & Female – These awards are for those students that have shown outstanding contribution to college sport, regularly going the extra mile to support and help sport within Huish. Winners – Amy Squire and Harry Quirk.

Sports Man/Woman of the Year – These awards are for the male and female students who have shown outstanding achievement when representing Huish Sport in 2023-24. Winners – Millie Balkwill and Rowan Curry.

Captain of the Year – This award is for the captain who has gone above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that their team runs smoothly. This captain will have taken on a variety of responsibility and ensured that the Coach’s job has been easy. Winner – Drew Sloan.

Coach of the Year – This award is for the Coach who has shown outstanding achievement through representing Huish, developing their team or winning a trophy with a team. Winners – Igors Kuznecovs (Competitive) and Gary Carter (Performance).

Team of the Year – This award is about the team that has shown/achieved something special whilst representing Huish Sport. This could be winning a trophy, retaining all players, achieving against the odds, most improvement or just been a pleasure to coach. Winners – Men’s Volleyball (Competitive) and Men’s Rugby (Performance).

This year’s awards were slightly different as the Coach and Team awards were split in to two categories, Performance and Competitive, to represent the different levels of competition. Students and staff voted for the awards and all of the categories were very close.

The final awards presented were the Huish 20. These were awarded to the 20 Upper Sixth students who were voted by their Coaches as the players they know will always step up in games and lead the team through their actions. The winners were:

  • Millie Balkwill
  • Bryony Hoppins
  • Amy Squire
  • Isla Findlay
  • Izzy Hague
  • Lydia Persey
  • Anastasia Cheetham-Wilkinson
  • Elena Booker
  • Nell Woodgate-Jones
  • Paige Hill
  • Theo Backhouse
  • Sam Gray
  • Drew Sloan
  • Tommy Hallows
  • Sean Raithby
  • Al Ross
  • James Eastaugh
  • Sam Rigby
  • Harvey Leroy
  • Rupert Baverstock

Sports Development Officer, Mike Ryan shared “Congratulations again to all students on a massively successful year!”.